Overlay – A Tale of One Girl’s Life in 1970s Las Vegas

Posted on: March 20th, 2013 by David M.
Assigned categories: Non-Fiction No Comments
Overlay - A Tale of One Girl's Life in 1970s Las Vegas (Memoirs of Marlayna Glynn Brown)

By Marlayna Glynn Brown

 

Fans of The Glass Castle and Angela’s Ashes will appreciate this extraordinary tale of survival and resilience recorded in spare and convincing prose. Written from a child’s point of view from ages 4 to 17, this tale describes the turbulent childhood of the author in 1970s Las Vegas.

The desert perimeter serves as a hot, dry and dangerous barrier that shuts out the rest of the vibrant world and bleaches away any sense of the joy that colors childhoods. Born into an ongoing cycle of alcoholism and abandonment amidst fallen adults, Marlayna develops a powerful sense of self-preservation in contrast to the people entrusted with her care. Her story explores the personalities of the bizarre characters who populate her life as she moves from home to home, parent to parent, family to family and ultimately to homelessness at the age of fourteen. Out of the resources of her remarkable childhood emerges an inner strength that will charm and captivate readers and remain in their consciousness long after the last page of her story has been turned.